Last night on Facebook I posted that I’d finished book #31 on the Jon Acuff Empty Shelf Challenge.

Say You're ONe

Say You’re One of Them is undoubtably the most important book I’ve read. It’s emotionally and spiritually painful. But it is one that, I believe, is a must read.

Within moments, my high school friend Susan VanSyckle had posted on my wall.

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 9.27.03 AM

Fair question. Here’s my quick answer.

I just do.

Now, I’m not going to get into why I read so much. I wrote about that in a blog a few months ago (you can read it HERE).

However, I am going to tell you the 5 ways I make time to read. Susan, I love that you used the word MAKE not FIND. If I searched, I wouldn’t find. However, making is an intentional act.

1. I Always, ALWAYS have a book with me. You never know when you’ll have 5 minutes here or there to read. Waiting rooms, pick up lanes (for school, not night clubs), lines at the grocery store…we all spend a lot of time waiting, don’t we? Use that time to get a chapter in!

I love reading in my van. It's comfortable and I can adjust my seat however I want. I read 5 days a week in the pick up lane at my kids' school

I love reading in my van. It’s comfortable and I can adjust my seat however I want. I read 5 days a week in the pick up lane at my kids’ school

2. I read while cooking. I’ve done this for years. It keeps me from over-stirring the food. Plus, it’s comfortable to read while standing. I’ve memorized my kitchen so I don’t have to take my eyes off the book to grab a spoon…just so long as the knives are facing the right way. Oh! And I’ve never burned anything doing this.

Just be careful to keep the paper clear of the flame!

Just be careful to keep the paper clear of the flame!

3. I rarely watch TV. I know myself very well. I can get pulled into a TV drama/comedy pretty quickly. That can be a big time drain for me. So. I just don’t watch much. If I do, it’s Saturday Night Live or The Daily Show/Colbert Report. But those viewing times are rare and usually after I’ve done a big day of writing and need to numb my brain a bit.

4. Well…this…

We all do it. Enough said.

We all do it. Enough said.

5. I read with my kids. A lot. So far, because of school reading/assignments, I haven’t posted any of our “together reading”. But this summer, I’ll make a point of reading chapter books to my kids at lunch every day. It’s one of my very favorite things about being a mom. Also, that said, I never feel guilty reading around my kids. They see that reading is important and, because they witness me reading, they see it as a positive way to spend time. Besides, they’re always welcome to approach me. I might make them wait until I finish my paragraph first, though.

How about YOU? How do you make time to read? What are you reading right now?

 

